World Habitat Awards Open for 2022

Annual awards to recognise projects that provide practical and innovative solutions to housing needs and problems.

The World Habitat Awards were established in 1985 by the Building and Social Housing Foundation – now known as World Habitat – as part of its contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless. They recognise projects that provide practical and innovative solutions to current housing needs and problems.

Housing projects and approaches are sought that:

  • Demonstrate practical, innovative and sustainable solutions to current housing issues faced by countries all around the world.
  • Can be transferred or adapted for use as appropriate.
  • Are already being implemented or are completed – ie not at design stage or very early stages of development.
  • View the term habitat from a broad perspective and bring other benefits as well, such as energy or water saving, income generation, social inclusion, community and individual empowerment, health benefits, capacity building or education.

Projects should:

  • Focus on affordable and adequate housing.
  • Have taken action to address the climate emergency.
  • Be in progress or have been completed in the last ten years.
  • Are taking steps to promote diversity, equality and inclusion.
  • Have been designed and/or delivered in close collaboration with the residents/local community.

While the housing element must be a key part of each submission, entrants are encouraged to submit projects and programmes that view the term ‘habitat’ from a broad perspective. Entries are encouraged that also address wider issues, for example: the climate emergency and environmental sustainability; social inclusion and income generation and gender, among others.

Any individual, organisation or government with an innovative and practical solution to housing needs and problems from around the world is eligible to enter. More than one entry can be made by the same individual or organisation in the same year.

Two Gold Awards are made each year, along with non-financial Silver and Bronze prizes.

In addition to international recognition, awards of £10,000 will be made to each of the two Gold Award winning projects. Trophies will also be presented to the winning projects, and travel and accommodation costs will be met for one representative of each winning project to attend the awards ceremony.

Entries can be made in English, Spanish or French and should be submitted by the 14 March 2022 (23:59) deadline.