Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards Open for 2020

The Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards (SFWA) is an annual competition aiming to recognise and reward the woods and forests that are managed to the highest standards and act as a beacon for modern woodland heritage.

Cash prizes ranging from £250 to £1,000 and trophies are available across a range of categories open to entries from landowners, forestry businesses, community groups and schools.

For the 2020 Awards, there are five award categories:

Community Woodlands Award 

Entry is open to woodland-related community-based projects from any part of Scotland.  Entrants should be able to demonstrate significant and sustained community input. A prize of £1,000 is available to small community groups and £1,000 to large community groups. In addition, the Tim Stead Trophy will also be awarded to the overall Community Woodland Award category winner judged to be the best community project overall regardless of the size of woodland group.

Farm Woodland Award

Entry is open to active farmers/crofters and/or for one competition their forester with the active farmer/crofter’s support, anywhere in Scotland.  There is one award of £1,000 for an active farmer/crofter anywhere in Scotland, and one award of £1,000 for a young, active farmer/crofter and/or their forester/woodland manager with the new in 2019 Scottish Woodlands Ltd. Trophy to be awarded.

New Native Woods Award

Entry is open to new native woodland projects anywhere in Scotland that must have had at least five years’ minimum of growth and no more than 20 years’ growth. £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winning woodland.

Quality Timber Award

Entry is open to woodland anywhere in Scotland where the production of high quality timber is a major objective of management. There are three categories:

1. one for new commercial woods:  where the James Jones Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.

2. one for a single stand of trees or a compartment or a small wood:  the Hunter Blair Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.

3. one for whole estates or forests:  the John Kennedy Trophy and £1,000 is available to be awarded to the winner.

Schools Award seeks out Scotland’s most fun-packed school woodland projects: £500 is available to be awarded to the winner with £250 for the runner-up.

Entry is open to nursery, primary, secondary and special schools anywhere in Scotland.

The 2020 competition deadline is 31 March 2020.

More information about this funding opportunity and the application process is available on the GRANTfinder funding information platform. GRANTfinder provides up-to-the minute content, insight and analysis on funding news and policy. To find out more about how GRANTfinder can keep you in the know, and subscription fees, contact us today.